Health Professions Programs on the Big Spring campus of Howard College are:

  • Dental Hygiene
  • Licensed Vocational Nursing
  • Nursing
  • Transitional Nursing

NOT YET ACCEPTED:

If you plan to major in Licensed Vocational Nursing, Nursing, or Transitional Nursing at Howard College on the Big Spring Campus but have not been accepted yet, your pre-advisor will be Andi Schneider.  Please contact her at (432) 264-5070, or email at aschneider@howardcollege.edu Her office is located at Horace Garret Center, room 210A. 

For Dental Hygiene contact Peggy Lee at (432) 264-5065, or email at plee@howardcollege.edu, or her office is located at Horace Garret Center, room A14.

ACCEPTED:

Once you have been accepted into one of the Health Professions Programs you will be assigned to a major advisor.

Belinda Lendermon — Dental Hygeine
(432) 264-5172
blendermon@howardcollege.edu
Horace Garrett Center 210A

Luci Gabehart — Nursing, Transitional Nursing
(432) 264-5074 
lgabehart@howardcollege.edu 
Horace Garrett Center 210A

Vanessa Arista — LVN
(432) 264-5067
varista@howardcollege.edu

Note:  If you plan to major in any Health Profession at another Howard College Campus or another institution but intend to do perquisites, please contact the Academic Advising / Career Center for guidance.

Health Professions Programs on the San Angelo campus of Howard College are:

  • Emergency Medical Services
  • Medical Assistant
  • Licensed Vocational Nursing (LVN)
  • Generic Nursing (RN)
  • Transitional Nursing (LVN – RN)
  • Radiologic Technology
  • Respiratory Care
  • Surgical Technology
  • *Dental Hygiene prerequisites are offered on San Angelo campus – dental hygiene program is offered on Big Spring campus


For general information on Health Professions Programs contact the Academic Advising Department:

Fernando Urista, Academic Advisor can be reached at (325)481-8300, ext. 3238 or furista@howardcollege.edu

Pam Gabriel, Academic Advisor can be reached at (325)481-8300, ext. 3269 or pgabriel@howardcollege.edu

Victoria Darnell, Director of Academic/CTE Advising & Enrollment Management can be reached at (325)481-8300, ext. 3323 or vdarnell@howardcollege.edu

Luis Martinez, District Director of Veteran’s Affairs, ADA Coordinator can be reached at (325)481-8300, ext. 3254, or lmartinez@howardcollege.edu  


For specific information on program admissions or requirements contact:  

Debra Sartain, Assistant to Health Professions Dean and Program Chairs at (325)481-8371, ext. 3435, or at dsartain@howardcollege.edu

Emergency Medical Services: Travis Hunter, (325)481-8371, ext. 3439, or thunter@howardcollege.edu

Medical Assistant: Gina Brown, (325)481- 8300, ext. 3438, or gbrown@howardcollege.edu

Licensed Vocational Nursing: Faleasha Moutry, (325)481-8371, ext. 3445, or fmoutry@howardcollege.edu  

Generic Nursing (RN) or Transitional Nursing: Dr. Marnita Guinn, (325)481-8371, ext. 3428, or mguinn@howardcollege.edu. 

Radiologic Technology: Julie Book, (325)481- 8371, ext. 3433, or jbook@howardcollege.edu

Respiratory Care: Lauri Kirgis, (325)481-8371, ext. 3431, or lkirgis@howardcollege.edu

Surgical Technology: Carah Dunagan, (325)481-8371, ext. 3432, or cdunagan@howardcollege.edu  

Dental Hygiene: Marcia Newton, (432) 264-5065, or mnewton@howardcollege.edu